top of page

Wow! What A Day!

Friday, July 28.

Today started routine enough, we were up-and-Adam and out the door by 8 am. Lasma was here to get us to the school for our farewell.

We spent much of the morning saying goodbye to the students we've met over the past week. To be honest, it doesn't feel like a week, it feels like much longer! These guys have been super welcoming and great FUN! They have shared freely and been such good sports with sharing Lasma! They have taught me about Instagram ( look me up : nbctjenn) and Boomerang! Lol.

We had the chance to help Lasma give feedback on some of the presentations! Her kids are really doing well learning English. Only real mistakes we found had to do with sentence structure and a few vocabulary words which when literally translated into English sounded awkward. Glad to have the opportunity to provide this feedback and encourage both the students and Lasma to keep on learning!

After saying good bye, we headed to the Department of Education and Culture to record a program about idioms. It was fun to be in a recording studio. It's been a LONG LONG time since I did something like that!

I really loved that I helped give something back to the community that has been so welcoming. I especially loved that it will help others learn English as it seems so many here want to do! 

We picked up Iranto for lunch at a place that was new for them. I found a new friend in the restaurant's cat. I named her Georgette. 

She was happy to lay by my feet under the table and nap. I don't try to pet her, but I did give her a taste of my yummy chicken! She would check out other tables and then come back to lay by me. When I talked to her, she would meow.

After lunch, we went shopping for Lampung t-shirts! 

I picked up a couple and we headed to meet Irianto's co-worker who setup a chance for us to watch Tapis being made!

But first we stopped at the largest Mosque in the recency for prayer. While Christy and I waited outside, we attracted a lot of attention. Apparently the area doesn't see a lot of Americans and the Mosque parking lot just happens to be the area's hangout place! 

We were approached by several teenagers wanting photos with the "bule" including more Boomerang! Lol. These two girls were encouraged by the street vendor not to be shy and ask for a photo. When they finally did, their phone wouldn't work, so I took photos of them! With a little help, they were finally successful and went home with photos to show off!

We met up with our "tour guides", Gubernur Lampung M. Ridho Ficardo. He and his family are from the area Tapis is made. We had a very nice time talking with him and his super sweet family! And Christy finally got to wear a bridal crown, one of the symbols of Lampung!

I am especially excited that these ladies are sharing this craft and traditions with the young people of their tribes. In Louisiana we have lost so much of the heritage in South Louisiana especially. In Indonesia, there is a strong belief that one must welcome the new without losing the old! These ladies were SO nice and patient to show me how to do create the design.

But, I don't think I'm ready to quit my day job yet! It's harder than it looks, but the results are exquisite! I strongly suggest to anyone visiting Lampung, find where they are making Tapis and learn! Then buy something beautiful to take home!

 These ladies are fabulous!

And of course, we posed for some great pictures with the "bule"! Everyone received a US flag pin and a USA/Indonesia bracelet for their hospitality! I'm so glad we could give a little something as a HUGE thank you!

Until tomorrow! Check out more photos on my FB page: Via Indonesia @tgc_irex @ecaatstate #tgcgoglobal #exchangeourworld #culturaldiplomacy #globaled #Indonesia #learning #ladoe #teacherexchange #swissbelhotel @goapel


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page