top of page

Terrific Tuesday

Tuesday, July 25.

Today started with a little extra sleep! It was nice to wake a little later than usual...almost luxurious. 

Then, it was off to the races! We toured SD Kartina. It is a private school for children whose family is in the military in Bandar Lampung. It was such a good time meeting teachers and seeing children! Then there were the obligatory selfies with parents and teachers! Such fun!!!! It is a great school! 

I am sad I did not get a picture, I think because I was so surprised.... An older teacher came up to me with a younger teacher just beginning to show. She said "Miss, please rub the Mother's baby" pointing to her belly. The young mother-to-be just beamed. I did. I hope it beings her blessings and luck as she hoped!

Then it was off to the market to find Batik shirts. Poor Christy! In a world of small people she had a hard time finding clothes, but we managed it! I love being able to walk into a store and pick up a pair of shoes knowing they will have my size! 😍

Next we headed to Mei Lampung for REAL Chinese noodles and meatballs. The noodles were SUPER yummy, but the meatballs were a bit like chewing on a sponge. A big TERIMA KASIH (thank you) to Lasma's principal from last year for treating us to lunch! 

Then we ran by Lasma and Irianto's new house. Its not ready yet, but it will be beautiful! The tour was nice!

When we returned to the hotel, Christy gave Lasma a lesson on blogging using Weebly. They didn't know I was sneaking pictures!

Then we had a bit of downtime at the Swiss Bel Hotel where we've been staying. We get looks and knowing ahhhsss and ohhhsss when we someone learns we're  staying here because apparently it is the "rich bule" place to stay, but I can't stay enough GREAT things about this place! By American standards, it is a very affordable stay. The accommodations are good and the service, well I can't say I've even had anything but GREAT service! Not only is the staff trained (can't say I see that often enough!), but they truly seem to enjoy their jobs! I'd recomend this chain to anyone! Especially THIS hotel!

Once rested, we headed out to dinner with Lasma, her family, and an instructor friend of Christy's best friend. The restaurant was fabulous with views over looking the city and live music. It seems everyone here can sing and play at least one instrument! The view here was enchanting! I had trouble paying attention to the conversation due to the view!

Whew! I needed a nap. Now safe and showered and comfortably tucked into bed, I'm ready for SLEEP! Until tomorrow! Check out more photos on my FB page: Via Indonesia


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page