top of page

First Day Of School

Monday, July 24.

I had this great sign welcome me to my first day of school at SMA Negeri 4 Bandar Lampung!


I attended my first Indonesian flag ceremony today! I wish I had pictures, but I was standing with the teachers and didn't want to take away from the event. I will say that it was a nice event and welcome!


The Flag Ceremony is held every Monday. Students and teachers wear their "very formal" uniform to school. First thing in the morning, everyone gathers in the courtyard. There is little shade, but it is early and not too hot yet. Today Lasma is the ceremony leader. I'm not certain of most of what she says because it is in Bahasa Indonesian but it sounds like she calls everyone to attention and greets them with a blessing. Students provide music with these cute little blue organs. They are about a foot long and have a tube to blow air through. The students play very well! And everyone sings the Indonesian national anthem with gusto! These guys are SO proud of their country and so excited to show it off. A "guard" of students present the flag. It is clear that the ceremony is very formal and important! Students do not misbehave and remain at attention for the whole hour. Then things relax a bit while the principal gives out awards and recognizes students that competed during the summer.


In Lasma's class, I heard presentations from the students. Complete with posters and roll playing!

These guys were a bit shy, but prior to the presentations, I got to talk to them and answer questions. They are very aware of international affairs and had very interesting questions.

It was the funniest thing. Every group of kids I talked to asked similar questions...and every time a boy asked what I thought of Indonesian food! One group recommended that I try meatballs before I leave so I will!


Then these guys tried to teach me how to play this bamboo xylophone called a Gamolan and a hand drum, but no luck! I did feel like I was back in high school hanging out with the drumline while they jammed! I love this traditional music they played! You can listen here. When asked why they chose this instrument they all agreed it was because of the tradition. This instrument has been played in Lampung since the 4th Century. These kids have such a sense of preserving history. My grandmother would have been proud!

Today was a great day! Loved every second of it! Love these people and this place!

Check out more pictures and video on my FB page: Via Indonesia

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page