top of page

Elephants and Fish

So this morning we headed out to Way Kambas National Park to see the elephants. Lasma and her family picked us up from the hotel at 6:30 am and we were off for the 3 hour drive. We were looking forward to getting out of the city and seeing the countryside. We ordered a "take along" lunch from the hotel for the trip.

On the way, we passed through the rural city of Metro. It certainly doesn't fit my definition of "rural" with 149,000 people, it is pretty busy! Metro started as a Dutch transmigration city. Lasma said that the Dutch government moved a whole village there from Java because it was overcrowded. Those that moved were given 10 hectars of land to develop. Today they mostly grow corn and rice, but we saw some Cassava too although it looks like entrepreneurship is big too. I observed many “mom and pop” type stores.

Lasma said that the rice farmers also farm fish when the rice fields are flooded for the small rice plants as the rice matures and the fields dry up, the fish are simply picked up out of the shallow water. Here shepherds herd ducks too.

On the way back from Way Kambas, we stopped at Metro’s park and Mosque for our guides to pray. While we waited, a group of teenagers stopped to ask us for a photo. They were in their second year of English and were eager to practice. A few photos later and we wandered over to the bank to use the ATM machine. Unfortunately, the machine did not have Internet access so we weren’t able to get funds.


Going into the National Park, we saw one lone Rhesus macaque monkey run across the road. On our way out, I quipped, “We saw one monkey coming in, wonder what we’ll see going out!”.

As we rounded the curve, there was a whole troop of monkeys begging for treats! They ran along the roadside grabbing stuff people threw to them out the windows. I felt like I was in a scene from Jumangi!


When we arrived at to see the elephants, it was raining. It made the earth smell like rich wet dirt! Love that smell! After a trip to the toilet (yes, one of THOSE), we hiked around to the elephant baths.

It was neat to watch them up close and personal! The trainers would take them out until all you could see was the tops of their heads. They didn’t seem to mind. After they were scrubbed down, they were brought over to the side where the watchers were. The elephants stuck their trunks out sniffing for treats from the onlookers.

One of the elephants touched my hand. I was so awe struck, I didn’t even get a photo of it touching me!


We should have been playing a game of “6 Degrees of Separation”. While I was touching the elephant, Christy spotted another bule. She was from France and working on an internship in governmental studies. An Indonesian lady was passing by and heard Christy say she was from Iowa.

They got to talking and we learned she graduated from Iowa State University and her son was born in Des Moines! I’m telling y’all, the world is a small place!


We wandered over to where the trainers stay. One of the elephants was there. Simon the elephant was munching on a palm frond.

It was amazing how he used his trunk “thumb” to feel the frond and find the pulpy part to eat. He had such dexterity! It was fun to watch him eat.


The park was so airy and peaceful! The trees were beautiful and the rain left a clean feeling in the air. We stayed at the park and had our picnic. I started talking to a stray Calico cat (NO Sara, I didn’t touch it). She acted like she wanted me to pet her, but when I bent down to talk to her, she growled at me. *LOL* Silly Calico cats! Never met one that isn’t half crazy! I’m sorry I didn’t get a picture of her though!


When we got back to town we stopped for some yummy Chicken Satay over by the airport at Sate Utami Solo. We had both peanut sauce and teriyaki sauce. I think the teriyaki was my favorite!

From there we went to the Fish Market. The sea air was wonderful! The market was bustling as the boats unloaded. Those are the most colorful boats ever!

There were all kinds of fresh fish! They were getting ready for the fish auction where people bid on fish brought in. It was a busy place!

Poor Christy is a good head taller than most of the people in Indonesia. Being blond and blue-eyed, she sticks out and it appears that people are fascinated by her “pointy” nose! Everywhere we go someone wants a photo with her! Not that I mind photos, but I’m glad I’m short and dyed my hair darker. I don’t stick out much at all! Several fishermen took a liking to her. She got invited to go for a ride on the fishing boat when they left. I’m REALLY glad I don’t stick out! Sorry Christy!


I know I’ll sleep well tonight after the sea air and all the exploring! Indonesia is a friendly place with S.O. much yummy food (who knew?!?). Tomorrow we will go to Lasma’s school. Can’t wait to meet the students tomorrow!


More photos: https://www.facebook.com/nbctjenn/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page