top of page

Fireworks Again


Tonight my city had a fireworks show in celebration of the 4th of July. Why they didn't wait until the 4th is a mystery. As usual, I had my routine wonderings about the affect these kinds of events have on others. From my house I could see a few sparkles here and there. I must say, I enjoyed what I could see. None of the pups took issue tonight after the second volley, I'm thankful for that!

This morning I woke up early and went out to the hammock to listen to the security webinar I missed Thursday. It was raining when I left Lafayette with threats of flash flooding so I thought my attention should be on the road rather than the webinar, so I drove rather than join in. There were some really good "common sense" ideas in the webinar like try to get a room between the 2nd and 7th floors because many places do not have equipment that can reach floors higher than this and always take a moment before your first night in a new hotel to find the fire escape route and walk it so if there is an emergency and you need to escape from the hotel, you'll be familiar with the route even though you may be groggy from sleep or disoriented by the event. I'm wondering how I've traveled for so long (mostly alone I might add) and never thought or read of these things!?!

I also decided I'd better double check on vaccinations one more time before leaving. I *thought* I had an up-to-date Tetanus shot, but I can't find evidence of it, so I am going to get another to be safe. It's not like I'm not ALWAYS cutting or scraping myself on something when working in the yard. It will be good to be sure I'm immune. I also need a Typhoid vaccination. Ugg! I wish I had checked before going to see the doctor earlier this week. Now I'll need to go back and get a script for it. Luckily the pharmacist said they can get the shot in overnight if they are out when I have the script. So Monday I'll call and set up the appointment to get the script and then the appointment for the shot. My health insurance covered the Hep A and will cover the Tetanus, but I'll also have to call them to see about Typhoid. Just when I thought I'd checked at least one item off my to-do list! Oh well, I have another week to get it done!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page