top of page

Preparing!


WOW! Time flies! Once Christmas Vacation was over, my REALLY busy time started. Standardized testing starts in February for my kids and having to test each school in the Parish means testing doesn't end quickly! We also had a state audit for the program I teach for and had all that to prepare and turned in. I'm very glad we started early because it turned out to be a bit more complex than we originally thought (but the results just came in and we had NO citings! Not to shabby for a new program!). Then it was the mad rush for school to end and I'm just now catching my breath and getting back to global learning!

With my trip less than 3 weeks away, my head is swirling with all the preparation. I've been concentrating on the mundane things (like do I have the right kind of clothing I will need? Enough bug spray? Ponytail holders?), and researching Indonesia (LOVE the Ring of Fire video series). I even found time to finish 2 books recommended by Tom Brady, Indonesia, Etc. and Love Thy Neighbor, and ordered another to read on the plane. I filled out and mailed all my Visa information and have received the document back! Now time to get to those other things I've left alone, like this blog!

I'm so glad we had the Symposium in DC in February! Not only did I learn a lot, but I also got to meet and network with some really cool people, like my travel partner Christy! We will be going to Banda Lampung in Southern Sumatra. Last month we met our host teacher, Lasma! She teaches English at a high school so it will be a different age group than I'm used to. We've had a few chances to chat back and forth and have begun making plans. I'm a bit nervous about the professional development we are expected to present. I want it to be meaningful for the teachers but have no idea what to present. I hope Christy has some ideas. I'm going to try to set up a chat with her next week to discuss it. We also have a security webinar next week that I'm looking forward to learning more!

So, I've made a list of things left to do and written a few more emails for donations. I designed and ordered business cards too. That really got the ball rolling for me! I have created two postcard designs that I'll have printed at Office Depot next week and ordered two more designs that I couldn't recreate. I met my friend Cindi today for coffee and she gave me a huge box of Mardi Gras beads. I'm so excited! I think the kids will get a kick out of them! In the next few days I'll start to pack the things I don't need on an everyday basis. I also need to test the compression bags I purchased. I LOVED the ones I took to Costa Rica last summer, but I can't remember where I bought them or what the brand name was! I hope these work as well and last as long. I also have an appointment with my doctor to get anti-nausea and antibiotic meds to take with me "just-in-case" and started on some probiotics. I'm worried about all the spicy food I keep reading about. Some-times my tummy doesn't handle spice well. I also ordered a LifeStraw bottle from Amazon just to be extra safe.

Y'all, if I can recommend one Fellowship that will stretch you and really get you involved in Global Education, iRex's Teachers for Global Classrooms is it! I have learned SO much and I'm So excited to have this opportunity to co-teach, talk about education, provide professional development, and mostly LEARN about a new culture! Okay, its late and time for me to head to bed with visions of Indonesia dancing in my head! Night all. More soon and this time, I promise!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page