top of page

The Beginning


Hello! I'm Jennifer Kelly. I'm a Migrant Education Teacher and Teacher Coach in Farmerville, Louisiana (map, information, district). I've been lucky enough to be Teachers for Global Classrooms 2016-2017 Fellow sponsored by IREX. "The Teachers for Global Classrooms Program (TGC) is a year-long, fully funded professional development opportunity for US elementary, middle, and high school teachers to become leaders in global education. Global education is integral to building 21st century skills, and teachers are the greatest resource to empower students as global citizens. TGC equips teachers to bring an international perspective to their schools through targeted training, experience abroad, and global collaboration." If you're a teacher and are interested in applying, click HERE.

I've completed the Global Education coursework. I have already learned SO MUCH! As part of this learning experience, I'm putting together this website to catalog not only global education resources for my community, but also to blog about the best part of this whole experience: international travel! My group will be traveling to Indonesia to learn about the culture and take part in learning about how my peers teach there. I'll be lucky enough to observe classes, meet teachers and education officials, make professional presentations, and CO-TEACH! I bet you can tell what I'm MOST excited about!

In February, I'll go to DC to the TGC Global Symposium where I'll get to meet all the great teachers that have taken part in the online course as well as the fabulous instructors! Once there, it will be a whirlwind of networking, planning, and learning. I can hardly wait!

In preparation for the Symposium, I'm setting up my Capstone webpage and blog. Tada! My first post! Tonight I'm also researching Indonesia, specifically the "Dos and Don'ts". Found some interesting posts that I've shared on Facebook with the other teachers that will be traveling with me. For now the rest of my site is "in the works", but by the end of February, it will be all set! Check back soon.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page